Meet the Ashtabula County Metroparks Board Members and Staff

Contact A Board Member
Paul Carpenter
Paul CarpenterPresident
Mr. Carpenter is a long time resident of Ashtabula County with a passion for all outdoor activities. He has been a volunteer with the Metro Parks for the past ten years and feels that “Ashtabula County is a great place to live!”
Robert Best
Robert BestVice President
Mr. Best has been on the Metroparks Board for four years. He is also involved with the Friends of Conneaut Creek as well as other preservation groups. Mr. Best brings his extensive operational and organizational skills to the parks system.
Charles Kohli
Charles KohliBoard Member
Mr. Kohli is a Harpersfield native and now living in Ashtabula Harbor, Charlie Kohli has served on the park board for thirty years.
Marie Lane
Marie LaneBoard Member
Marie Lane is an Attorney and a resident of Saybrook Township. Marie came to Ashtabula County in 1998 to serve as the Director of the Ashtabula County Public Defender’s Office, where she continues today.

Marie is very active in the Ashtabula community and was appointed to the Metro Parks Board in January, 2016.

Terry Berkey
Terry BerkeyBoard Member
When I was younger I wasn’t concerned about preserving park land for people. Now that I am older I can see the importance of having green spaces available for everyone’s use. I believe that a good park system will have a very positive effect on Ashtabula County. I have been the leader of Over the Hill maintenance volunteers for 12 years and have served on the Metroparks board for 6 years.
Larry Frimerman
Larry FrimermanMetroparks Executive Director
Mr. Frimerman joined the Metroparks in September of 2016. He is a Certified Parks and Recreation Professional and has served more than a decade as an Executive Director, moving a local conservation organization from a small fledgling land trust to a sustainable, nationally accredited regional organzation. The Metroparks is pleased that he has chosen Ashtabula County as his new home!
 Brett Bellas
Brett BellasMetroparks Operations Manager
Brett joins the Ashtabula Metroparks team with over 10 years of park operations and maintenance experience.
Pam Blough
Pam BloughMetroparks Office Manager
Pam has been the Clerk of the Board for the past 12 years. She started out as a Volunteer with the Friends of the Metroparks.